STATIC PRIVACY POLICY PAGE - Oct. 2017

Our Commitment to Privacy

Your privacy is of great importance to us. Brother Canada (“Brother Canada”, “we”, “us” or “our”) respects the privacy of our customers and visitors to the www.brother.ca website (the “Site”). The purpose of this Policy is to explain how we collect, use and disclose the personal information of our customers and Site visitors. For the purpose of this Privacy Policy, "personal information" means information about an identifiable individual.

Information Collection

Personal Information You Provide

In general, you can visit our Site without providing any personal information. However, in order to use certain features of our Site, you will need to provide personal information. We may also collect personal information when you contact us by telephone phone, mail or email.

The personal information we collect includes:

  1. Name, address, e-mail address, phone number, and other contact information. We may collect some or all of this information when you create an account on our Site, check out as a guest on our Site, register for one of our programs, make a purchase, register a product with us, or contact us with questions or inquiries.

  2. Product, support and warranty information. This includes the products that you have purchased and/or registered with us as well as information you may provide when you contact us for support or in connection with your warranty.

  3. Payment information, such as credit card details, that we require in order to process your purchases.


Information Collected by Automated Means

Various technologies are used on our websites to make them more user-friendly and effective. The data collected by such automated means generally does not contain personal details about the user, but may include information such as pages accessed, number of visitors to the site and IP addresses. Examples of such technologies are cookies, web analytics and social media widgets, described below.


Cookies & Web Analytics

In order to improve our Site, we may use "cookies" or other tools to track your visit. A cookie is a small amount of data that is transferred to your browser by a web server and can only be read by the server that gave the cookie to you. One of the primary purposes of cookies is to help the website recognize you, including by recalling your specific information and settings, to deliver relevant content and to help ease website navigation.

We and our service providers may use cookies to customize the user experience (such as setting the preferred language) and content (such as promotions, products or key messages) that we believe are relevant to you and your interests, based on your visits to our Site and third party websites. We and our service providers may also use cookies and web-analytics to collect information about your use of the Site and enable us to improve the way it works. We do not have access to or control over the use of cookies or web-analytics by our partners, affiliates, tracking utility companies and service providers.

You may be able to set your browser to decline cookies or notify you before a cookie is set. However, if you decline cookies, you may not be able to use some of the features of the Site.

In addition to cookies, the Site automatically logs the IP/Internet address of your computer, your browser version, referring URLs and general web visitor information used by our web platform and traffic reporting tools. If you are logged in to your account when you visit the Site, this web analytic information may be linked to your personal information, and your navigation around the Site may be tracked. We use this information to understand how the Site is being used so that we can improve the Site and offer appropriate products and services to our customers.


Social Media Widgets

Our Site may include Social Media Widgets, such as the “Share this” button or interactive mini-programs that run on our Site. These Widgets may collect your IP address, which page you are visiting on our Site, and may set a cookie to enable the Widget to function properly. Social Media Widgets are either hosted by a third party or hosted directly on our Site. It is your choice to use these Social Media Widgets, and your interaction with these Widgets is governed by the privacy policy of the company providing the widget.


Use of Personal Information

We may use and combine the information that we collect in order to provide the service or carry out the transaction you requested or authorized, including to:

  • Process your orders, including processing payments and delivering products

  • Administer Brother Canada programs, such as Brother Care

  • Provide timely, reliable services to our customers

  • Keep you informed about information and offers that you might be interested in including contests, promotions and special pricing offers

  • Establish and maintain our relationship with you and provide on-going service(s) and customer support, including administering product warranties

  • To improve our products and services

  • Develop, implement, market and manage services for customers, including through the use of surveys

  • Assist in administrative functions, such as maintaining business records, to collect unpaid debts, for credit card processing, and to protect the business interests of Brother Canada and its customers

  • Protect you and us against error and fraud

  • Comply with legal requirements

We retain personal information for as long as necessary to fulfill the purposes described above.   In some cases, we may be required by law to retain information for a longer period.

Disclosure of Personal Information

Brother Canada may share your personal information with third party service providers engaged to provide certain services on our behalf, such as shipping, payment processing, communications, marketing and analytics and customer service.  These service providers are strictly prohibited from using your personal information for any purpose other than to provide these services to Brother Canada and are required to protect your personal information using security measures comparable to those used by Brother Canada. Due to business requirements and as permitted under applicable law, your personal information may be stored or processed outside of Canada by Brother Canada or by one of its third party service providers, including in the United States and Japan, in which case it is subject to the laws of that foreign jurisdiction and may be accessible to that jurisdiction’s government, courts or law enforcement or regulatory agencies.

We may disclose personal information:

  • to our affiliates (including outside of Canada) for internal audit, management, billing or administrative purposes.

  • as necessary to meet legal, regulatory, insurance, audit, and security requirements.

  • to parties connected with the proposed or actual financing, securitization, insuring, sale, assignment or other disposal of all or part of Brother Canada or our business or assets, for the purposes of evaluating and/or performing the proposed transaction. Our successor or assigns may use and disclose your personal information for similar purposes as those described in this Privacy Policy.

  • and as otherwise with your consent or as permitted or required by law.

Consent

We generally collect, use or disclose your personal information with your consent, or as allowed or required under the law. Your consent may be expressed in writing or be implied, and you may give it to us electronically, verbally (over the telephone), by mail or in person.

It is always your choice whether or not you provide us with your personal information and you may decline to give us your personal information or withdraw your consent to our collection, use or disclosure of your personal information at any time, subject to legal and contractual restrictions and reasonable notice. However, a decision to withhold certain personal information or withdraw consent may restrict or prevent Brother Canada from providing goods and/or services to you in a particular way, such as fulfilling an online order, which requires personal information.

If you wish to unsubscribe from our promotional email communications, simply click on the unsubscribe link in the footer of the email.

Security of Your Personal Information

We take steps to protect the security of your personal information by using a variety of security technologies and procedures to help protect your personal information from unauthorized access, use or disclosure. For example, the file containing your personal information is stored on our servers (or those of our service providers) and access to the file is limited to authorized employees and service providers. Sensitive personal information (such as credit card number) transmitted over the Internet is protected through the use of Secure Socket Layer (SSL) encryption or other technologies. Access to your account is available through a password and a unique customer ID selected by you. Your password is encrypted. We recommend that you do not divulge your password to anyone.

No method of transmission over the Internet, or method of electronic storage, is 100% secure, however. Therefore, we cannot guarantee its absolute security. If you have any questions about security on our Web site, you can contact us at privacy@brother.ca.

Third Party Sites

You may be able to access third party web sites (including other Brother web sites) through links available on our Site. You understand and agree that your use of third party sites will be governed by the privacy policies of those web sites and not by this Privacy Policy. The privacy policies of other web sites may differ from this Privacy Policy to reflect differences in site features, company services or applicable law.

Contact Us, Access, Correction & Complaints

If you have any questions about the processing of your personal information or about our Privacy Policy you are welcome to contact us. The contact details are:

Head Office:

Brother International Corporation (Canada) Ltd.
1, Hôtel de Ville
Dollard des Ormeaux, QC
H9B 3H6

Attention: France Landreville, Senior Director of Marketing 


Email: privacy@brother.ca


You may register a privacy related complaint by contacting us at the above contact information. We will explain our complaint procedure to you and investigate all complaints. If a complaint is justified, we will take all appropriate steps to rectify the situation as necessary. We will also let you know what other complaint procedures may be available to you.

If you wish to request access or correction of your personal information in our custody or control, you may write to us at the above address. Your right to access or correct your personal information is subject to applicable legal restrictions. We may take reasonable steps to verify your identity before granting access or making corrections.

Changes to this Privacy Policy

This policy may change without prior written notification. If you are concerned about how your personal information is used, you should visit our Site periodically to obtain a current copy of this policy.  Your continued provision of personal information, purchase of our products, or use of our services following any changes to this Privacy Policy constitutes your acceptance of any such changes.


Last updated: October 13, 2017

Top

STATIC PRIVACY POLICY PAGE

Notre engagement à l'égard de la confidentialité

Votre vie privée nous importe énormément. Brother Canada (« Brother Canada », « nous », « notre » ou « nos ») respecte la vie privée de ses clients et des visiteurs qui fréquentent le site Web www.brother.ca (le « site »).  La présente politique a pour but d’expliquer comment nous recueillons, utilisons et divulguons les renseignements personnels de nos clients et des visiteurs du site.  Aux fins de cette politique de confidentialité, l’expression « renseignements personnels » s’applique aux renseignements d’une personne identifiable.

Collecte d'information

Renseignements personnels que vous fournissez

En règle générale, vous pouvez visiter notre site sans avoir à fournir de renseignements personnels.  Cependant, afin d’utiliser certaines fonctionnalités de notre site, vous devez fournir des renseignements personnels.  Nous pouvons également recueillir des renseignements personnels lorsque vous communiquez avec nous par téléphone, courrier ou courriel.


Les renseignements personnels que nous recueillons comprennent :


  1. Nom, adresse, adresse courriel, numéro de téléphone et autres coordonnées.  Nous pouvons recueillir une partie ou la totalité de ces renseignements lorsque vous créez un compte sur notre site, vous vous connectez en tant qu’invité sur notre site, vous inscrivez à l’un de nos programmes, effectuez un achat, enregistrez un produit avec nous ou communiquez avec nous pour obtenir des réponses à vos questions ou pour formuler des demandes de renseignements.

  2. Produits, soutien et renseignements sur la garantie, ce qui comprend les produits que vous avez achetés de nous, et/ou enregistrés auprès de nous, ainsi que les renseignements que vous pouvez fournir lorsque vous communiquez avec nous pour obtenir de l’aide ou dans le cadre de votre garantie.

  3. Informations de paiement, telles que les renseignements de carte de crédit, dont nous avons besoin pour traiter vos achats.


Renseignements recueillis de façon automatisée

Plusieurs technologies sont utilisées afin de rendre nos sites Web plus conviviaux et efficaces. Les données recueillies par les moyens automatisés de telles technologies ne contiennent généralement pas de détails personnels au sujet de l'utilisateur, mais peuvent inclure de l'information relative aux pages visitées, au nombre de visiteurs du site et aux adresses IP. Les technologies utilisées comprennent notamment les cookies, le Web analytique et les widgets de médias sociaux décrits ci-après.


Cookies et Web analitique

Afin d'améliorer notre site, nous pouvons utiliser des cookies ou d'autres outils nous permettant de faire le suivi de vos visites. Un cookie est constitué d’une petite quantité de données, transférées à votre navigateur par un serveur Web, qui peuvent être lues seulement par le serveur qui a installé le cookie dans votre ordinateur. L’un des principaux objectifs des cookies est d’aider le site Web à vous reconnaître, y compris en récupérant vos renseignements et vos paramètres spécifiques, pour permettre de vous fournir du contenu pertinent et simplifier la navigation dans le site Web.


Nos fournisseurs de services et nous‑mêmes pouvons utiliser des cookies dans le but de personnaliser l’expérience de l’utilisateur (par ex. établir la langue de préférence) et le contenu (par ex. adapter les promotions, les produits ou les messages clés) d’une manière qui nous semble pertinente pour vous et vos intérêts, en fonction de vos visites de notre site Web et des sites de tiers. Nos fournisseurs de services et nous‑mêmes pouvons également utiliser des cookies et l’analytique Web afin de recueillir de l’information sur votre utilisation du site, et nous permettre d’améliorer la façon dont celui‑ci fonctionne. Nous n'avons pas accès aux cookies et à l'analytique Web et nous n'avons aucun contrôle sur leur utilisation par nos partenaires, sociétés du même groupe, entreprises de services de suivi et fournisseurs de services.


Vous pouvez être en mesure de configurer votre navigateur de manière à ce qu’il refuse les cookies ou vous avertisse avant qu’un cookie ne soit installé.  Cependant, si votre navigateur refuse les cookies, il se pourrait que vous ne puissiez pas utiliser certaines des fonctionnalités du site.


En plus d’installer les cookies, le site enregistre automatiquement l'adresse IP/Internet de votre ordinateur, la version de votre navigateur, les adresses URL de renvoi, et de l'information générale sur le visiteur Web utilisée par notre plate-forme Web et nos outils de mesure du trafic Web. Si vous vous connectez à votre compte lorsque vous visitez le site, cette information d’analytique Web peut être liée à vos renseignements personnels, et votre navigation dans le site peut être surveillée.  Nous utilisons ces renseignements dans le but de comprendre la façon dont le site est utilisé, afin de pouvoir améliorer le site et offrir des produits et des services pertinents pour nos clients.


Widgets de médias sociaux

Notre site peut inclure des widgets de médias sociaux, tels que le bouton « Partager » ou des mini-programmes interactifs qui fonctionnent sur notre site. Ces widgets peuvent recueillir de l’information comme votre adresse IP et la page que vous visitez sur notre site, et peuvent installer un cookie pour permettre au widget de fonctionner correctement. Les widgets de médias sociaux sont soit hébergés par un tiers, soit hébergés directement sur notre site. Il vous revient de décider d'utiliser ou non ces widgets de médias sociaux, et votre interaction avec ceux-ci est régie par la politique de confidentialité de l'entreprise fournissant le widget.

Utilisation des renseignements personnels

Nous pouvons utiliser et combiner l’information que nous recueillons de manière à fournir le service ou à exécuter la transaction que vous demandez ou autorisez, notamment:

  • Traiter vos commandes, y compris le traitement des paiements et la livraison des produits

  • Gérer les programmes de Brother Canada, tels que Brother Care

  • Fournir des services fiables et en temps opportun à nos clients

  • Vous tenir au courant de l’information et des offres qui pourraient vous intéresser y compris les concours, les promotions et les offres spéciales

  • Établir et entretenir notre relation avec vous et toujours fournir des services et un soutien à la clientèle, y compris la gestion des garanties pour les produits

  • Améliorer nos produits et services

  • Élaborer, mettre en œuvre, commercialiser et gérer des services pour la clientèle, y compris en ayant recours à des sondages

  • Aider les groupes administratifs, y compris pour tenir à jour les dossiers administratifs, recouvrer des dettes exigibles, traiter les cartes de crédit et protéger les intérêts commerciaux de Brother Canada et de ses clients

  • Vous protéger et nous protéger contre l'erreur et la fraude

  • Se conformer aux exigences légales

Nous conservons les renseignements personnels aussi longtemps que nécessaire aux fins susmentionnées.  Dans certains cas, nous pouvons être tenus par la loi de conserver les renseignements pour une plus longue période. 

Divulgation des renseignements personnels

Brother Canada peut partager vos renseignements personnels avec des fournisseurs de services tiers engagés dans le but de fournir certains services en notre nom, tels que l’expédition, le traitement des paiements, les communications, le marketing et l’analytique ainsi que le service à la clientèle.  Il est strictement interdit à ces fournisseurs de services d'utiliser vos renseignements personnels à quelque fin que ce soit autre que fournir ces services à Brother Canada, et ils sont tenus de protéger vos renseignements personnels à l'aide de mesures de sécurité comparables à celles utilisées par Brother Canada.
En raison des exigences opérationnelles et dans la mesure permise par la loi applicable, vos renseignements personnels peuvent être conservés ou traités à l'extérieur du Canada, par Brother Canada ou par l'un de ses fournisseurs de services tiers, notamment aux États-Unis et au Japon, auquel cas vos renseignements personnels sont assujettis aux lois de ces territoires de compétence étrangers, et peuvent être accessibles aux gouvernement, aux tribunaux ou aux organismes d'application de la loi ou de réglementation de ces territoires de compétence.


Nous pouvons divulguer des renseignements personnels:

  • aux sociétés membres de notre groupe (y compris à l’extérieur du Canada) pour des fins de vérification interne, de gestion, de facturation ou administratives

  • au besoin pour se conformer aux exigences légales, réglementaires, d’assurance, d’audit et de sécurité.

  • aux parties associées au financement proposé ou réel, à la titrisation, à l’assurance, à la vente, à la cession ou à une autre aliénation totale ou partielle de Brother Canada ou de nos activités ou actifs, aux fins d’évaluer et/ou d’exécuter la transaction proposée. Notre successeur ou nos ayants droit peuvent utiliser et divulguer vos renseignements personnels à des fins semblables à celles décrites dans la présente politique de confidentialité.

  • ainsi que pour d’autres motifs, avec votre consentement ou lorsque la loi le permet ou l’exige.

Consentement

De manière générale, nous recueillons, utilisons ou divulguons vos renseignements personnels avec votre consentement, ou comme il est permis ou requis par la loi. Votre consentement peut être exprimé par écrit ou être implicite, et vous pouvez nous le donner par voie électronique, verbalement (par téléphone), par la poste ou en personne.


Vous avez toujours le choix de nous fournir ou non vos renseignements personnels, et vous pouvez refuser de nous les fournir ou pouvez retirer votre consentement à l'égard de notre collecte, utilisation et divulgation en tout temps, sous réserve des restrictions légales et contractuelles, et moyennant un préavis raisonnable. Toutefois, une décision de retenir certains de vos renseignements personnels ou de retirer votre consentement peut limiter ou empêcher Brother Canada de vous fournir des produits et/ou des services, comme par exemple la possibilité de passer une commande en ligne, qui nécessite la cueillette de renseignements personnels.


Si vous souhaitez vous désabonner de nos courriels promotionnels, il vous suffit de cliquer sur le lien de désabonnement dans le bas du courriel.

Sécurité de vos renseignements personnels

Nous prenons des mesures afin d’assurer la sécurité de vos renseignements personnels en utilisant diverses technologies et procédures de sécurité pour aider à protéger vos renseignements personnels contre tout accès, toute utilisation ou divulgation non autorisés. Par exemple, le fichier contenant vos renseignements personnels est conservé sur nos serveurs (ou ceux de nos fournisseurs de services) et l’accès au fichier est limité aux employés autorisés et aux fournisseurs de services. Les renseignements personnels de nature confidentielle (tels qu'un numéro de carte de crédit) transmis par Internet sont protégés par le recours au cryptage SSL (Secure Socket Layer) ou d’autres technologies.  Vous pouvez accéder à votre compte en utilisant un identifiant de client exclusif et un mot de passe choisis par vous. Votre mot de passe est crypté. Nous vous recommandons de ne pas divulguer votre mot de passe à quiconque.


Toutefois, aucune méthode de transmission par Internet, ni aucune méthode de conservation électronique, n'est parfaitement sécurisée. Par conséquent, nous ne pouvons garantir sa sécurité absolue. Pour toute question au sujet de la sécurité de notre site Web, vous pouvez communiquer avec nous à l'adresse privacy@brother.ca  

Sites de tiers

Vous pouvez être en mesure de consulter les sites Web de tierces parties (y compris les autres sites Web de Brother) par les liens disponibles sur notre site. Vous comprenez et acceptez que votre utilisation de sites de tiers sera régie par les politiques en matière de confidentialité de ces sites Web, et non par la présente politique de confidentialité. Les politiques de confidentialité d’autres sites Web peuvent différer de la présente politique de confidentialité, reflétant les caractéristiques particulières des sites, les services offerts par les diverses compagnies ou la législation applicable. 

Coordonnées, accès, correction et plaintes

Pour toute question concernant le traitement de vos renseignements personnels ou notre politique de confidentialité, n'hésitez pas à communiquer avec nous. Voici nos coordonnées :


Siège social :

La Corporation Internationale Brother (Canada) Ltée
1, Hôtel de Ville
Dollard des Ormeaux, QC
H9B 3H6


À l'attention de : France Landreville, directrice principale du marketing


Courriel : privacy@brother.ca


Vous pouvez formuler une plainte liée à la protection de la vie privée en communiquant avec nous aux coordonnées indiquées ci‑dessus. Nous vous expliquerons notre procédure de plainte et nous enquêterons sur toutes les plaintes reçues. Si une plainte est justifiée, nous prendrons tous les moyens appropriés pour remédier à la situation dans la mesure nécessaire. Nous vous informerons également des autres procédures de formulation de plainte qui peuvent vous être offertes.


Si vous souhaitez demander l’accès à vos renseignements personnels en notre possession ou sous notre contrôle, ou la correction de ceux-ci, vous pouvez nous écrire à l'adresse indiquée ci-dessus. Votre droit d’accéder à vos renseignements personnels, ou de corriger ceux-ci, est assujetti aux restrictions légales applicables.  Nous pouvons prendre des mesures raisonnables pour vérifier votre identité avant de vous en accorder l’accès ou d’y apporter des corrections. 

Modifications apportées à la présente politique de confidentialité

La présente politique peut changer sans avis écrit préalable. Si vous avez des préoccupations quant à l'utilisation de vos renseignements personnels, vous devriez visiter notre site périodiquement afin d’obtenir une copie à jour de la présente politique.  Le fait de fournir de manière continue des renseignements personnels, d’acheter nos produits ou d’utiliser nos services à la suite de toute modification à la présente politique de confidentialité constitue votre acceptation de ces changements. 


Dernière mise à jour : 8 octobre 2017

Haut