About Us

Great People Delivering a Superior Customer Experience

bannerBlue

Brother Canada, At Your Side, Since 1960

If you’re here, it’s probably because you’re a big fan of Brother products or you’ve just discovered them and would love to know more. Or it’s because you’re thinking about joining our team of great people. Well, everything you ever wanted to know about Brother Canada and more is right here. Enjoy the read.

We're proud to be part of the bigger picture that is Brother Global and we're thrilled to deliver the Brother experience to Canadians.

Get to Know Brother Canada

Discover the Many Sides of Brother

We take our work seriously, but not ourselves. Watch our videos to learn more about us. Once you get to know us a little, you’ll want to get to know us a lot!

1908
history

The first stitches

It all began when Kanekichi Yasui started the Yasui Sewing Company. With his son Masayoshi, who was very talented at sewing machine repair, and his brother Jitsuichi, who developed the sewing machine’s main component, the shuttle hook, they worked very hard to live up to their motto: superior quality and diligent service. Values that today, live on in our signature: At your side.

1932
history

Sewing together a dynasty

Ever the innovators, the Yasui brothers developed the first chain-stitch sewing machine to make straw hats. However, that was only the beginning. By 1932, they produced and marketed the first domestic sewing machine ever made entirely in Japan. World War II brought the sewing machine production to a halt as they turned their attention to industrial machines. Post-war, they refocused on sewing machines, helping to meet the demand for a nationwide clothing shortage.

1950
history

A Brother in every home

By the 1950s, domestic sewing machines were all the rage and could be found in 70% of Japanese homes. Strong demand led to big domestic growth and a new corporate headquarters was built. This was the official birth of the Brother name, when the company changed its name to Brother Industries. Along with the new name came new ventures – with Brother expanding into home appliances, knitting machines, electric fans, washing machines and even a motorcycle named Darling.

1960
history

Welcome to Canada

After establishing a U.S. base in New York in 1954, Brother set its sights on the Great White North. The year was 1960, and Hal Kalker, one of Brother’s top American salesman, set up a modest sales base in Montreal. At the time, Canada’s most important garment manufacturing business, industrial and banking centre. The move paid off; Kalker grew the company even more – putting topnotch Brother sewing machines and typewriters on the Canadian market.

1964
history

Brother takes on the world

Always on the lookout for new opportunities, Brother gave 300 brand new typewriters to journalists at the 1964 Tokyo Olympic Games. A brilliant marketing move. In fact, in only a few years, Brother was building typewriters in more than 20 languages and exporting them to 110 countries. Making typewriters along with sewing machines, Brother’s flagship export product.

1982
history

Brother meets the world

The 1970 World Fair in Osaka. A big turning point for Brother. The world begins to recognize Japan as a producer of innovative, high-quality products at competitive prices, and Brother was right there with “mechatronics technology”. That’s geek-speak for combining mechanical technology and electronics technology. 1982 marked the release of the world’s first and smallest battery-powered electronic personal printer (EP-20) by, you guessed it, Brother. Not one to sit on our hands, we followed up with a labelling system using thermal transfer technologies and then, in 1987, fax machines. The launch of this family of products was a real milestone for Brother. It created a blueprint for the company for years to come as a serious innovator and provider of office equipment for the information age.

1995
history

Hi-tech growth

By the late 1980s, Brother was considered a major player in the fax market, but by the early 1990s, fax sales began to slow down. Rather than pull out of the market, Brother put a new spin on the fax by creating the FAX-600 for the U.S. market. A wise business decision, and a new boost in sales in a new category – the small and home office market, aka SOHO.

Throughout the 1990s, personal computers became embedded in both home and office environments. Thanks to the Internet, the workplace now expanded into the home, and the SOHO market expanded. In 1995, Brother launched the Laser Digital Multifunction Center™ integrating fax, printing and copying into a single unit, and then, the Colour Inkjet Digital Multifunction Center™. Brother was ready like never before to grow with and take on the needs of the information age.

2005
history

Globally focused, locally driven

Brother Global is always ready for what’s next. In constant communication with worldwide offices such as Brother Canada, Brother always strives to meet local needs through active research and development of imaging and printing products. As a major player in the business machines industry, Brother expanded its worldwide reach in 2005 with 10 sales offices around the globe.

2008
history

100 and going strong

In 2008, we celebrated our big 100. No small feat for a company founded by a couple of brothers. However, just because we were 100 didn’t mean we were going to relax. Not at all, because delivering high-quality products and services that you can always count on has always been, and always will be, how we like to do things.

2012
history

TOP 100 GLOBAL INNOVATORS

Brother wins a spot as one of the 2012 Thomson Reuters Top 100 Global Innovators. Brother didn’t get to be one of the top innovators by leaning on its reputation. Brother got there by working hard every single day to develop and deliver innovative products and services that our clients can always count on.

2015
history

THE WEST ISLAND OF MONTREAL CHAMBER OF COMMERCE ACCOLADES

Brother Canada really takes the cake. In 2015, they also took the awards for Distribution, Human Resources, as well as the very prestigious Business of the Year. It’s what you get when great people get together every day to do great things for our clients.

BE AN INSIDER
Sign up to get 15% and get a chance to win $250 in supplies value.
COVID-19 UPDATE
Delivery of your order might be delayed 3 – 5 days. Thanks for your patience!

Sign up to get 15% off your entire first order

and be entered for a chance to win $250 in the supplies

We’re at your side

Here’s what we’re doing about COVID-19

Qui sommes-nous

L’excellence de notre service, c’est notre passion

bannerBlue

BROTHER CANADA, À VOTRE SERVICE, DEPUIS 1960.

Si vous êtes ici, c’est probablement parce que vous aimez les produits Brother ou que vous venez de les découvrir et que tenez à en savoir plus. Ou c’est parce que vous voulez vous joindre à notre équipe exceptionnelle. Eh bien, tout ce que vous avez toujours voulu savoir sur Brother Canada se trouve ici, et même plus. Bonne lecture.

Nous sommes fiers de faire partie du Groupe Brother et nous sommes heureux d’offrir l’expérience Brother aux Canadiens et Canadiennes.

Faites connaissance avec Brother Canada

L'histoire de Brother

Un regard constamment tourné vers l’avenir. Toujours à votre service.

1908
history

Les Débuts

Tout a commencé quand Kanekichi Yasui a créé l’entreprise Yasui Sewing Company. Avec son fils, Masayoshi, qui était un excellent réparateur de machines à coudre, et son frère, Jitsuichi, qui a créé le crochet de la navette, qui est la principale composante de la machine à coudre, il a travaillé très fort pour respecter sa devise de qualité supérieure et de service rapide. Ce sont des valeurs qui, de nos jours, continuent de faire partie de notre signature : À votre service.

1932
history

Créer une dynastie

Toujours en train d’innover, les frères Yasui ont mis au point la première machine à coudre à points de chaînette pour la fabrication de chapeaux de paille. Mais ce n’était que le commencement. En 1932, ils ont produit et commercialisé la première machine à coudre domestique à être entièrement fabriquée au Japon. La Seconde Guerre mondiale a interrompu la production des machines à coudre et l’entreprise s’est tournée vers les machines industrielles. Après la guerre, les frères se sont concentrés à nouveau sur les machines à coudre et ont aidé à répondre à la demande créée par la pénurie nationale de vêtements.

1950
history

Une Brother dans chaque foyer

Dans les années 1950, les machines à coudre domestiques étaient à la mode et on en trouvait dans 70 % des foyers japonais. La forte demande a entraîné une importante croissance domestique et un nouveau siège social a été construit. L’entreprise a alors officiellement pris le nom de Brother Industries. Brother était né... Le nouveau nom a été accompagné de nouvelles aventures, Brother élargissant ses activités dans les électroménagers, les machines à tricoter, les ventilateurs électriques, les machines à laver et même une motocyclette baptisée Darling.

1960
history

Bienvenue au Canada

Après avoir ouvert un premier établissement aux États-Unis (à New York, en 1954), Brother a commencé à tourner son regard vers le Nord. C’était en 1960, et Hal Kalker, l’un des meilleurs vendeurs de Brother aux États-Unis, a créé un modeste local de ventes à Montréal. À l’époque, c’était le plus important centre commercial, industriel, bancaire et de fabrication de vêtements au Canada. Cette décision a été fructueuse. M. Kalker a fait croître l’entreprise encore plus en mettant sur le marché canadien les machines à coudre et à écrire Brother de qualité supérieure.

1964
history

Brother à la conquête du monde

Toujours à la recherche de nouvelles possibilités, Brother a donné 300 machines à écrire toutes neuves aux journalistes à l’occasion des Jeux olympiques de Tokyo de 1964. C’était une démarche de marketing brillante. En fait, en quelques années seulement, Brother fabriquait des machines à écrire dans plus de 20 langues, et les exportait dans 110 pays. Brother fabrique des machines à écrire et des machines à coudre, son produit d’exportation vedette.

1982
history

Brother rencontre le monde

L’exposition universelle de 1970 à Osaka. Un grand virage pour Brother. Le monde commence à reconnaître le Japon comme un fabricant de produits novateurs de qualité supérieure, offerts à des prix concurrentiels. Et Brother était là avec sa « technologie mécatronique ». C’est un terme technique qui illustre la combinaison du mécanique et de l’électronique. C’est en 1982 qu’a été lancée la première et plus petite imprimante électronique personnelle alimentée par pile (EP-20) au monde – par Brother, vous l’avez deviné. Et pour ne pas nous asseoir sur nos lauriers, nous avons poursuivi en lançant un système d’étiquetage utilisant des technologies de transfert thermique. Puis, en 1987, ce fut le tour des télécopieurs. Le lancement de cette famille de produits fut une véritable étape clé pour Brother. Ce fut un modèle que l’entreprise a suivi pendant des années en tant qu’innovateur et fournisseur d’équipements de bureau à l’ère de l’information.

1995
history

Croissance dans le secteur de la haute technologie

Vers la fin des années 1980, Brother était perçu comme un joueur important du marché du télécopieur, mais les ventes de ces produits au début des années 1990 ont commencé à ralentir. Plutôt que de se retirer du marché, Brother a réinventé le télécopieur en créant le FAX-600 pour le marché des États-Unis. Ce fut une décision avisée qui entraîna une nouvelle poussée des ventes dans une nouvelle catégorie : le marché des petites entreprises et du télétravail. Au cours des années 1990, les ordinateurs personnels sont arrivés dans les domiciles et les bureaux. Grâce à Internet, le lieu de travail se prolonge maintenant au domicile, et le marché des petites entreprises et du télétravail s’élargit. En 1995, Brother a lancé le Laser Digital Multifunction Center™ (centre multifonction numérique laser) qui intégrait les fonctions de télécopie, d’impression et de photocopie en un seul appareil. Ce fut ensuite le tour du Colour Inkjet Digital Multifunction Center™ (centre multifonction jet d’encre numérique couleur). Brother était plus que jamais prêt à croître et à répondre aux besoins de ses clients à l’ère de l’information.

2005
history

Portée mondiale, direction locale

Le Groupe Brother est toujours prêt pour la suite. En communication constante avec ses bureaux répartis partout sur la planète – comme Brother Canada –, Brother s’efforce constamment de répondre aux besoins locaux en ayant des activités de recherche et de développement portant sur les produits d’imagerie et d’impression. À titre de joueur important du secteur des machines de bureau, Brother a élargi sa portée en 2005, grâce à dix bureaux de vente à l’échelle mondiale.

2008
history

100 ans et toujours en santé

En 2008, nous avons fêté notre centenaire. Tout un exploit pour une entreprise fondée par deux frères. Mais ce n’est pas parce que nous avons 100 ans que nous allons ralentir. Pas du tout. Le fait d’offrir des produits et des services de qualité supérieure, sur lesquels vous pouvez toujours compter, a toujours été et sera toujours notre priorité.

2012
history

Les 100 plus grands innovateurs mondiaux

Brother s’est taillé une place parmi les 100 plus grands innovateurs mondiaux au classement Thomson Reuters de 2012, et ce n’est pas en s’appuyant sur sa réputation. C’est en travaillant fort chaque jour pour mettre au point et livrer des produits et des services novateurs sur lesquels ses clients peuvent toujours compter.

2015
history

Trois prix au gala des accolades de la chambre de commerce de l’ouest-de-l’île de montréal

Brother Canada remporte vraiment la palme. En 2015, l’entreprise a également reçu les prix pour la distribution, les ressources humaines, de même que le très prestigieux prix de l’entreprise de l’année. C’est ce qui se produit quand des gens exceptionnels se réunissent quotidiennement pour faire de grandes choses pour leurs clients.

DEVENEZ UN EXPERT
Abonnez-vous pour obtenir 15 % de rabais et courir la chance de gagner 250$ en fournitures.
MISE À JOUR - COVID-19
La livraison des commandes peut être retardée de 3 à 5 jours. Merci pour votre patience!

Abonnez-vous pour économiser 15 % sur la totalité de votre première commande

et courir la chance de gagner 250$en fournitures.

Nous sommes là pour vous

Pendant la crise de la COVID-19