Brother Canada

Five decades!

We set up shop in Canada in February 1960 as Brother International Corporation (Canada) Ltd., with headquarters in Québec’s Greater Montréal area. In the early 80s, we stretched an arm out to the west coast, establishing a distribution centre in Vancouver, BC, and in 2014, we opened our Toronto office.

In our five decades of existence we’ve seen — and led — huge innovations in an eclectic assortment of products, from typewriters, cash registers, adding machines, scientific calculators and word processors to electronic labellers, laser printers, fax machines, scanners and multi-function centres.

The years may pass, but our mantra never changes: Brother is at your side. We hire great people and deliver a superior customer experience. Always.

Canadian history

Read up on the whos, whats and whens of our proud and happy history in Canada.

1960-1990: Starting in Canada

When Brother began doing business in Canada, they did so with very little fanfare. Hal Kalker and his partners built Brother Canada from the ground up before handing the reigns to Takehisa Kanazawa. It was mid-February 1960 when Hal Kalker arrived in Montréal from New York with a simple mandate to cultivate new business north of the border. Having distinguished himself within Brother USA selling domestic sewing machines, he was ready to take on a new challenge.

For Brother, the 1960s were to become an era of diversification. In 1962, the Nippon Sewing Machine Manufacturing Co. changed its name to Brother Industries Ltd. In removing reference to sewing machines from its name, it became clear that the Yasui brothers had set their sights on a much larger objective. Three decades of business machine innovation had yielded an eclectic assortment of products, including a variety of typewriters, cash registers, adding machines, scientific calculators and word processors, in addition to the current line of electronic labellers, laser printers, fax machines and multi-function centres.

The origins of Brother’s Canadian corporate offices are perhaps as humble as those of Brother itself. The first of what was to become a quick succession of four progressively larger locations was a one-room office and some storage space they shared with the Eastern Venetian Blind Company. By the time Hal Kalker retired in 1990, Brother Canada was operating from a brand new office building on a two hundred thousand square foot lot that was once home to the Dollard-des-Ormeaux drive-in theatre – a testament that he had indeed cultivated sales north of the border.

BACK TO TOP

1990-1995: Rapid success

Takehisa Kanazawa’s mandate was simple: pursue aggressive sales growth and prepare for the future. And that he did, almost quadrupling sales during his five-year term as President. Kanazawa brought with him many elements of traditional Japanese management, which gained much notoriety in North American business publications during the 80s and 90s. Things like consensus management, long-term planning and the ringi process of decision-making were to become the building blocks of virtually all major decisions at Brother Canada during this period. It was by virtue of this management style, as well as the tremendous success of the business machine products, that Kanazawa was able to grow the business as quickly as he did.

As any successful entrepreneur will tell you, however, rapid success can be a double-edged sword. Additional sales means more customers, more products, more people and more demands on the organization’s infrastructure. In short, rapid success is often followed by acute growing pains. Since 1960, Brother Canada had experienced almost relentless growth and it had become evident that the company could no longer be run like the small business it once was.

During his term as President, Kanazawa set the foundation for a substantial investment in the IT infrastructure. He was instrumental in laying the foundation for future growth at Brother Canada. Having fulfilled his mandate, he was then summoned back to his homeland where he continues to play a significant role at the highest levels of Brother Industries Ltd.

BACK TO TOP

1995-1999: Bringing about change

While Jun Kamiya was brought in to address the infrastructure needs, perhaps his greatest achievement was doing so without ever having to sacrifice the needs of Brother’s customers — a tricky balance few executives ever strike. Kamiya came to Canada via Brother USA where he had followed a career path similar to other young rising stars within the Japanese organization. Although his background was originally human resources and then sales, it was perhaps his enjoyment of the latter that carried over into his role as President at Brother Canada. Kamiya thought nothing of getting on a plane or getting behind the wheel to go out and see customers face-to-face. His direct hand in the day-to-day sales business contributed substantially to building Brother’s business, particularly with office superstores.

Chief among Kanazawa’s legacies was the hiring of André Hudon. Hudon joined Brother Canada in 1995 during the transition period from Kanazawa to Kamiya, and was to become Kamiya’s chief architect in restructuring the organization. While he was VP Finance, Hudon was responsible for reorganizing the operations. This was exactly the expertise Kanazawa and Kamiya were looking for at Brother Canada.

While Hudon was brought in to reengineer the company’s infrastructure, Martin Featherston was given the responsibility of reengineering the superstructure. He arrived in 1994 as Ontario Regional Sales Manager and understood that in order to continue growing the business, he had to realign Brother’s sales department to accommodate two distinct sales groups: a commercial group and a retail group.

As with Kanazawa before him, upon completion of his mandate, Kamiya was called home to face new challenges in a career that — as anyone who knows him will attest — is destined for greatness.

BACK TO TOP

1999-2005: Great expectations

As so it was that the lead architect of the retooling years would be handed the reins with great expectations. André Hudon, the first Canadian president ever to lead Brother Canada, would meet these challenges head on. Having successfully reengineered Brother Canada’s infrastructure, André Hudon then set his sights on moving the company toward a more structured and professional way of managing a business. A seasoned lobbyist, Hudon’s focus was on business development.

BACK TO TOP

2005-present: Total customer experience

Building on its strong customer service legacy, Brother Canada has always had the commitment and expertise to help their B2B (business to business) customers in their search for improved efficiency and productivity. Over the years, Brother has won several awards in recognition of its excellent support, including the STAPLES Business Depot President’s Award for vendor of the year (2001 and 2008).

Following a transition period where Seigi Tsuji led Brother Canada, Martin Featherston was appointed President of Brother Canada in early 2005 after more than ten successful years with Brother, first in sales management and then later as Vice President of Sales, Product and Marketing.

Brother Canada has accumulated a variety of awards over the years. Accolades from customers increased significantly starting in 2005 with best vendor distinctions from its biggest partners including Corporate Express (2005), Office Depot (2005), Basics (2006) and Staples (2005, 2007, 2008).

With the insight earned over its 50 years of existence, Brother Canada’s top priorities for the years to come are to cultivate the Brother brand, to foster a superior customer experience at all levels of the organization and to bring to life the AT YOUR SIDE mantra.

BACK TO TOP

Technical Support

Questions? We can help.
Go

Newsletter

Get exclusive deals, offers and more!
Go



 
 
© 1995 - 2017 Brother International Corporation
Please enter a valid address. Email Submit http://www.brother.ca/en/aboutus/brothercanada.aspx 20170117231234QQGWY49XY6 EN X0Gzc2X%3DWQpglLjHJlYQGgp4MzdzfaSTwFKEC9JM4mFU41jLYtVwjpnpgHlpgneHmgJoXX0Gzc2X%3DWQpglLjHJlYQGmNiFPrCUcyndAbNzbPsfUoq3rzeJy

Brother Canada

Depuis cinq décennies!

La Corporation Internationale Brother (Canada) Ltée s’est établie au Canada et à inauguré son siège social au Québec dans la région du Grand Montréal en février 1960. Au début des années 80, ses activités se sont étendues jusqu’à la côte ouest du Canada, où elle a ouvert un centre de distribution à Vancouver (CB) et en 2014, elle a ouvert son bureau à Toronto.

Au cours de ses cinq décennies d’existence, Brother Canada a été témoin de grandes avancées et a participé au développement de produits variés, tels que machines à écrire, caisses enregistreuses, machines à additionner, calculatrices scientifiques, systèmes de traitement de texte, systèmes d’étiquetage électroniques, imprimantes laser, télécopieurs et centres multifonction.

Les années se sont écoulées, mais jamais la mission de Brother n’a changé : être à votre service. Nous embauchons des gens formidables qui assurent une expérience remarquable. En tout temps.

Histoire de Brother au Canada

Découvrez les moments et les personnages clés de notre fabuleuse histoire au Canada.

1960 à 1990 : L’aventure commence au Canada

Lorsque Brother a amorcé ses activités commerciales au Canada, ce fut dans la plus grande discrétion. Hal Kalker et ses partenaires ont bâti Brother Canada de A à Z, avant de passer le flambeau à Takehisa Kanazawa. Hal Kalker avait quitté New York au milieu du mois de février 1960 et est débarqué à Montréal avec pour mandat l’implantation d’une nouvelle entreprise chez ses voisins du Nord. Reconnu chez Brother USA pour ses talents dans la vente de machines à coudre, il était prêt à relever un nouveau défi.

Pour Brother, les années 60 furent une ère de diversification. En 1962, la Nippon Sewing Machine Manufacturing Co. est devenue Brother Industries Ltd. Le fait de retirer les mots
« sewing machine » (machine à coudre) du nom de l’entreprise indiqua que les frères Yasui avaient en tête un objectif beaucoup plus ambitieux. En trente ans d’innovation, une panoplie d’appareils pour le bureau ont vu le jour : machines à écrire, caisses enregistreuses, machines à additionner, calculatrices scientifiques, systèmes de traitement de textes, systèmes d’étiquetage, imprimantes laser, télécopieurs et centres multifonctions.

Les bureaux de Brother Canada ont connu des débuts aussi modestes que ceux qu’avait connus Brother elle-même. Le premier des quatre bureaux était constitué d’une pièce et d’une petite aire d’entreposage, partagée avec l’Eastern Venetian Blind Company. En 1990, au moment où Hal Kalker prit sa retraite, Brother Canada était installée dans un édifice flambant neuf, sur un terrain de 200 000 pieds carrés qui jadis accueillait le ciné-parc de Dollard-des-Ormeaux. La culture de vente d’Hal Halker avait réussi à traverser les frontières.

HAUT DE LA PAGE

1990 à 1995 : Un succès fulgurant

Le mandat de Takehisa Kanazawa était simple : mener une campagne dynamique sur le plan de la croissance des ventes et de la planification de l’avenir. C’est exactement ce qu’il fit, en faisant presque quadrupler les ventes au cours des cinq années de son mandat présidentiel. Pour y parvenir, M. Kanazawa a utilisé plusieurs aspects de la gestion japonaise traditionnelle, dont la gestion par consensus, la planification à long terme et le processus décisionnel « ringi », qui allait constituer les bases de toutes les prises de décision majeures chez Brother Canada au cours de cette période. Ce type de gestion a joui d’une grande notoriété auprès des périodiques professionnels nord-américains au cours des années 80 et 90. C’est grâce à celui-ci et à l’immense popularité des machines de bureau que M. Kanazawa a réussi à faire prospérer l’entreprise aussi rapidement.

Cependant, tout entrepreneur sérieux vous le confirmera, un succès rapide peut constituer un couteau à deux tranchants : des ventes supplémentaires nécessitent plus de produits, plus d’employés et de plus grandes infrastructures. En effet, un succès rapide peut souvent se transformer en une crise de croissance aiguë. À partir de 1960, Brother Canada a commencé à croître presque sans répit, et il devenait évident qu’elle ne pouvait plus être gérée comme la petite entreprise qu’elle était auparavant.

Durant son mandat présidentiel, M. Kanazawa a établi les bases solides pour investir de manière considérable dans les infrastructures de technologie de l’information. Son rôle a été déterminant dans la planification de la croissance future de Brother Canada. Après avoir accompli sa mission, M.Kanazawa retourna vers sa terre d’origine, le Japon, où il continue de jouer un rôle important au sein des plus hauts dirigeants de Brother Industries, Ltd.

HAUT DE LA PAGE

1995 à 1999 : Un vent de changement

Jun Kamiya de Brother USA est transféré au Canada. Cette jeune étoile montante de l’organisation japonaise avait sensiblement suivi le même parcours que ses prédécesseurs, et il avait pour mission de réaménager la structure organisationnelle de l’entreprise. Il accomplit sa mission avec succès, mais sa plus grande réalisation fut sans contredit de l’accomplir sans jamais négliger les besoins de la clientèle, un défi qu’une minorité de gestionnaires réussissent à relever. Au départ, Jun avait entrepris sa carrière en ressources humaines, puis dans le domaine de la vente, mais c’est surtout son goût pour la vente qui l’a conduit à la présidence de Brother Canada. M. Kamiya croyait fermement en l’idée de se déplacer personnellement pour rencontrer ses clients, que ce soit en avion ou en voiture. Son implication directe dans les activités de ventes quotidiennes de l’entreprise a contribué largement au développement de celle-ci, particulièrement lors des ententes avec les magasins à grande surface.

Un des principaux legs de M. Kanazawa avait été l’embauche de M. André Hudon. Ce dernier s’était joint à l’équipe de Brother Canada en 1995, au cours de la période de transition entre M. Kanazawa et M. Kamiya, et il était devenu « l’architecte en chef » de la restructuration de l’entreprise. Alors qu’il occupait le poste de vice-président des finances, il avait pour mandant de réorganiser les nouvelles activités de l’entreprise. Il possédait exactement l’expertise que M. Kanazawa et M. Kamiya recherchaient afin d’arriver à remodeler la structure organisationnelle de Brother Canada.

Alors que M. Hudon avait été mandaté pour réaménager la structure de l’entreprise, Martin Featherston fut affecté au réaménagement de la superstructure. M. Featherston avait fait ses débuts chez Brother Canada en 1994, à titre de directeur régional des ventes de l’Ontario. Il a vite compris qu’en vue de soutenir la croissance constante de l’entreprise, il devait réorganiser le service des ventes de Brother afin d’accommoder deux groupes de vente distincts : le groupe commercial et le groupe de ventes au détail.

Tout comme son prédécesseur M. Kanazawa, M. Kamiya est retourné au Japon après avoir rempli son mandat pour relever de nouveaux défis et poursuivre une brillante carrière chez Brother Industries.

HAUT DE LA PAGE

1999 à 2005 : De grandes attentes

Le flambeau est transmis à l’architecte en chef de la restructuration, André Hudon. Monsieur Hudon fut le tout premier président canadien de l’histoire de Brother Canada, et il releva tous les défis que cela représente avec brio. Après avoir procédé au réaménagement de la structure organisationnelle de Brother Canada avec succès, il a implanté une gestion de l’entreprise plus professionnelle et structurée que l’avaient fait ses prédécesseurs. Lobbyiste expérimenté, il s’est concentré principalement sur l’élargissement de la clientèle.

HAUT DE LA PAGE

2005 à aujourd’hui : L’expérience complète du client

Grâce à sa solide expertise en matière de service à la clientèle, Brother Canada se fait un point d’honneur de soutenir ses partenaires commerciaux (B2B) dans leur quête d’amélioration continue de l’efficacité et de la productivité. Au fil des années, Brother Canada s’est vu décerner de nombreuses récompenses en reconnaissance de son excellent soutien, dont le prestigieux Prix du président STAPLES/Bureau en gros/Business Depot (2001 et 2008) pour le fabricant de l’année.

Après une période de transition au cours de laquelle Seigi Tsuji fut à la tête de Brother Canada, Martin Featherston fut nommé président de Brother Canada au début de l’année 2005. M. Featherston cumulait déjà plus de 10 ans de succès au sein de l’entreprise, tout d’abord à la direction des ventes, puis à titre de vice-président, ventes, produits et marketing.

Brother Canada a reçu un grand nombre de prix honorifiques de la part de ses clients au fil des ans. Ce nombre a d’ailleurs augmenté de manière significative depuis 2005, alors que l’entreprise a été nommée meilleur fabricant par ses plus importants partenaires, dont Corporate Express (2005), Office Depot (2005), Basics (2006) et Staples/Bureau en gros (2005, 2007, 2008).

Avec toute la sagesse acquise au cours de ses 50 années d’existence, Brother Canada a aujourd’hui pour priorités fondamentales de cultiver sa marque, de continuer à offrir une expérience supérieure à sa clientèle à tous les niveaux de l’organisation et de poursuivre sa mission : À VOTRE SERVICE.

HAUT DE LA PAGE

Soutien technique

Des questions? Nous pouvons vous aider.
En savoir plus

Infolettre

Recevez des rabais, des offres exclusives et
plus encore!
En savoir plus



 
 
© 1995 - 2016 Brother International Corporation
Veuillez saisir une adresse courriel valide. Courriel Envoyer http://www.brother.ca/fr/aboutus/brothercanada.aspx 20160725203929YYALFMCM04 FR X0Gzc2X%3DWQpglLjHJlYQGtzfH28s2mCtfOzaDhzaizbmvLFmNPGsVwjpnpgHlpgneHmgJoXX0Gzc2X%3DWQpglLjHJlYQGiJUza09WtbwT7LXipW6zfTNlplp72